calling fellow #CMC11 MOOCers

Why Didn't You Call Me?

Where are you all?

Big day has arrived and I have to admit I feel a bit lost. Where to look, how to connect and with whom? Started looking for people I know. I have information that some of them signed-up. Haven’t found anybody yet in any of the platforms and am now wondering where they are… feeling a bit on my own in this MOOC but have started participating, well asking a few questions and responding to posts published by others and have started making some links.

Looked today around the programme site (it seems to make sense) and focused on week 1 for now. Didn’t have much time to spend on the readings but identified 1 or 2 resources, I think they were two, which I would like to study in more detail. In a way, I used this evening to filter out, what I am going to read in the next few days. Things that already made me think and I want to find out more about them, such as this business with creativity in a multicultural context. As mentioned in one of the discussions, I have always been a foreigner in a foreign country, all my life. This is probably not so unique anymore, but I am wondering if this reality had influenced the way I practise creativity and the creative habits I have developed because I had to, because I wanted to find ways to communicate and connect with others and language on its own became a barrier at times? Just wondering…

My initial plan is to do the following on a daily basis (if I have the time and energy – it will be hard not to have the energy since it is something I love doing and I get immersed but, I do have a family as well and I need to balance my activities wisely… )

  • Ok, I guess, I will start by checking the weekly resources which will provide some kind of focus.
  • I will then explore how these or some of them could be useful for my own professional context and the projects I am involved. That would be my filtering done.
  • Then a will probably start thinking and reflecting and studying and probably blog some of my thoughts to get them out of my system but also hoping that somebody will read and connect so that we can start exchanging experiences and stories. Working on the blog post, will probably take a day or two, depending on what I would like to share, how deep I want to investigate things but also how much time I have available. I wish the day had more hours!!!
  • Even after the filtering stage, I would start looking for opportunities to engage in conversations with others who say things that interests me and challenge my own thinking. I think it will be especially valuable to connect with others who have opposite views because that will make me think deeper about my own.

Just watched this intro video on MOOCs again. I think this is a clip that you can watch again and again and remind yourself why you are participating and what you could get out of it. Also, I have found George Siemens post “How to participate in an open online coure” really useful. And while I am not a number person, I am still looking for a definition of a MOOC linked to numbers (and I noticed that other MOOCers are also asking) since we are talking about MASSIVE open online courses.

How is massive defined in the context of a MOOC? Is it massive because it has the potential to be massive (due to its openess) or because it actually is massive (number of participants)? And if massive is 100 or 200 when we deliver modules to the same amount of people, could we therefore call them massive modules? On a non-open course you know how many learners you have? How will you ever know (guess? use statistics?) how many learners are participating, engaging, on- or off-line one way or the other in a MOOC?

4 thoughts on “calling fellow #CMC11 MOOCers

  1. Hi Chrissi — You are not speaking in an empty echo chamber, I have cruised through your blog! Thank you for your well-considered and rich posts. I also feel a little lost inside MOOCdom, even more so than you since I’m still sitting here trying to decide whether to start a new blog and if so on what platform. I’m finding it overwhelming that we don’t have a centralized place to discuss and comment on posts by others … instead we are sent off to their own site where we then need to have wordpress, blogger, blog.com, diigo, and linkedin account log-ins in order to participate. I suspect that it is the decentralized aspect of the course content we produce that might be a big stumbling block for many. As for me, as much as I have privacy concerns with using my personal communications accounts like google, twitter & FB to log into other sites, that’s what I will start doing or I will never make it through this course in one piece!

    Our interests overlap a bit. My core “thing” is civic education and the problem I wish to solve is how creativity/communications can be applied to demographics that are not habitually (or maybe never) on the Web. For example, youth who mostly just use their phones to connect to others. Or impoverished populations who may have no computer, never mind internet access. In the course of the work I’ve done thus far I did a real-world project with elementary school students and it became an integrative arts/play/social studies unit. So I appreciate your posts on creative play (especially the one re the cowbell in the baby’s hands!) and I promise I will be reading your feed, even if I may not have the time to comment often.

    –ilyse, NYC (blog for CMC not set up yet, will swing back here to let you know when i do)

    • Hi Ilyse,

      How wondering to see you here and thank you so much for your thoughts. Good to hear that I am not the only one feeling lost. I think we are at least 3 at the moment… it feels all a bit too autononmous somehow. But as you say, this is done for a reason and part of the ‘game’. I guess it is more about establishing our own connections based on common grounds we find. You visited me today and started a conversations, tomorrow you might have your own online space and I will probably stop by and engage in what you are exploring. If you don’t know what to do, and are thinking should I blog or shouldn’t I, why not do it anyway and find out if it is worthwhile. This MOOC gives you the opportunity to experiment with a variety of media and connect with different people, like you did with me. It would have been nice to click on your name and find out more about you or being able to visit your site/blog. We are using WordPress and it works fine. There are other tools of course such as blogger for example or if you prefer using audio, have a look at http://www.ipadio. com – all you need is a phone, any phone. – this link might also be useful for your community project you mention.

      I would love to find out more about your elementary school project if you would like to share. We are currently starting a project linking Primary/Elementary School with HIgher Education so I am very interested in what you have learned through the project you din.

      Keep in touch and speak again soon.
      Chrissi
      ps. Thanks for reading and all your kind comments about my posts.

  2. I also feel quite lost at the moment – overwhelmed by the enormous wall of material and when I went in to read some of the material felt that it was quite questionable – for example – a piece about teaching creativity which used IBM as its example. Now it is possible that IBM is viewed by people in the business world as THE creative corporation in the 21st century… but from where I sit I think of it as a dinasaur trudging through the last Century. Does ANYONE associate the word “creativity” with IBM? It’s as cuting edge as Gestetner or Kodak.

    • Hi Bernard, and thank you for stopping by and commenting. I think the resources are there to make us think and the IBM article definitle made you think and re-act and then interact with me about this. I think that is the purpose of this all, to have a debate and not agree with whatever lands on our MOOC plate ;o) I don’t know much about IBM but it is a huge ship and I had this discussion with a dear friend earlier today that big co-operations are like big ships that need a lot of time and effort to turn… so not sure what creativity means for IBM and most importantly for their employees and how they and/or if they experience working in a creative environment.

      Did you have the chance to look at the other resources? There was a paper on multiculturalism and creativity. This is the one I wanted to study but haven’t managed yet.

      I am including here a link to a collection of links I have in Diigo on creativity. You might find something that is useful for you.
      http://www.diigo.com/user/chrissinerantzi/creativity (I think you might have to copy and paste this link into the browser)

      Thanks for reading and keep in touch.

      Chrissi
      ps. By the way, I also love breadmaking ;o)

Leave a Reply

