Timeline of academic development in the UK #phdchat #go_gn

For the last four years I have been and still am a PhD student at Edinburgh Napier University in the area of collaborative open learning in cross-institutional academic development in the UK. One of the main outputs of this phenomenographic study is the cross-boundary collaborative open learning framework. More info about my study can be found here.

Since September 2016 I have been revising the first full draft.

During this process, I realised that a timeline for the literature review section around   academic development, would be useful to capture important milestones in the area and the ones related to HE in the UK. This would give the reader a quick visual overview.

I was surprised at how little specific information I could find in the literature especially around historic academic development provision and particularly dates linked to provision and when it all started. Is this linked to the fact that in the first years of its existence not much was written about academic development?

This led me to reach out to the SEDA community for help via the Jisc mailing list. I am  grateful for all colleagues who responded and helped me add some vital pieces to this timeline.

The below is this timeline.

Microsoft Word - cn_timelines - REVIEWED_new2.docx
Timeline of academic development in the UK (Nerantzi, 2016)

If you are reading this, and have more accurate information, that should be included/replaced in the timeline, please let me know.

Thank you.

Chrissi

Leave a comment